About the Show

Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe is a unique and wildly theatrical musical play combining haunting music, poetic storytelling, and stunning stagecraft to tell the fascinating story of iconic American writer Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849).

A literary rock star in his day, Poe struggled with tragedy and addiction, poverty and loss, yet produced some of the world’s most original and enduring literature before dying in unexplained circumstances at the age of 40. Gorgeous and grotesque, Nevermore blurs the line between fact and fiction, exploring the events that shaped Poe’s character and career and giving powerful expression to Poe’s words “all that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream.”

Nevermore is written, composed, and directed by Catalyst Theatre’s Artistic Director, Jonathan Christenson. The physical world of Nevermore – including sets, costumes, and lighting – is designed by Bretta Gerecke. The production features choreography by Laura Krewski, music tracks and additional orchestrations by Matthew Skopyk, and sound design by Wade Staples.

Originally produced by Catalyst Theatre of Edmonton, Canada in 2009 to commemorate the bicentennial of Poe’s birth (January 19, 1809), Nevermore has toured extensively, playing acclaimed engagements throughout Canada, in London at the prestigious Barbican Center, and in New York City at New Victory.

Nevermore was produced at New World Stages in 2015 by Radio Mouse Entertainment (M. Kilburg Reedy and Jason E. Grossman), Martin Hummel, Caiola Productions (Rose Caiola and Luigi Caiola), Terry Schnuck, Susan Jaffe Tane, Hernreich-Horvath Productions (Robert Hernreich and Holly Horvath), and Catalyst Theatre in association with Fireboat Productions (Gordon Stanley), Mary Cossette, and Meredith Lynsey Schade. The associate producers were Carol L. Bixler and Deepa Desai.

For the show’s 2023 engagement at Vertigo Theatre in Calgary, AB all seven original Canadian Nevermore performers were in the cast – Shannon Blanchett, Sheldon Elter, Beth Graham, Ryan Parker, Garett Ross, Scott Shpeley, and Vanessa Sabourin.